the philippine flag PHILIPPINE Historical Sites, Churches and Religious Shrines

Philippine Historical Sites

The Philippines has a multitude of reminders of a colorful and exotic past. These include archeological discoveries of prehistoric cultures, ceramics and other reminders of Chinese traders and artifacts of original tribal communities. Houses, forts and other buildings of the Spanish Era have survived the ravages of times in places such as Vigan, Intramuros, Taal, Negros, Bohol and Cebu. The heroic deeds of the revolutionary leaders in the War of Independence against the Spaniards and the subsequent struggle against American colonizers are commemorated with monuments, shrines and markers throughout the nation. The tragic battles of World War 11 are similarly remembered, as are the events and leaders of the Modern Era. Filipinos are very proud of their heritage and the large number of museums, memorials and other markers are a testimony to their national pride.

The historical sites listed below are coded as follows:
(A) Prehistory
(B) Spanish Era
(C) War of Independence and U.S. Era
(D) Word War 11
(E) Modern Era.

Philippine Churches and Religious Shrines

The religious devotion and spirituality of the Filipino people are without peer in the Modern world as religion is an integral part of their daily lives. One lasting legacy of the Spanish Colonial Era is a myriad of historical churches and shrines stretching from Northern Luzon to Southern Mindanao. Despite the ravages of tire, earthquakes, volcanoes and war, many of these churches are in an excellent state of preservation, while many others have been painstakingly restored by devout parishioners. Dating back to the 16th Century, the churches utilize a wide variety of architectural styles, and feature ornate facades, belfries and altars. The natural skills of Filipino artisans have been employed to create stirring works of art. The presence of numerous shrines is a testament to the profound spirituality of the people, their veneration of sacred objects and images, and their steadfast belief in miracles and divine intervention.

Region 1 - (Ilocos Region)
Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan
regional center: San Fernando City

Region 2 - (Cagayan Valley)
Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino
regional center: Tuguegarao City

Region 3 - (Central Luzon)
Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales
regional center: San Fernando City

Region 4 - (Southern Tagalog)
IV-A (Calabarzon) - Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Quezon, Rizal
regional center: Calamba City
IV-B (Mimaropa) - Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Palawan, Romblon
regional center: Quezon City

Region 5 - (Bicol Region)
Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate, Sorsogon
regional center: Legazpi CIty

Region 6 - (Western Visayas)
Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Negros Occidental
regional center: Iloilo City

Region 7 - (Central Visayas)
Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor
regional center: Cebu City

Region 8 - (Eastern Visayas)
Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Samar, Southern Samar
regional center: Tacloban City

Region 9 - (Western Mindanao or Zamboanga Peninsula)
Zamboanga Del Norte, Zamboanga Del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay
regional center: Pagadian City

Region 10 - (Northern Mindanao)
Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao Del Norte, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental
regional center: Cagayan de Oro

Region 11 - ( Southern Mindanao or Davao Region)
Compostela Valley, Davao Del Norte, Davao Del Sur, Davao Oriental
regional center: Davao City

Region 12 - (Central Mindanao or Soccsksargen)
North Cotabato, Sarangani, South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat
regional center: koronadal City

Region 13 - (Caraga)
Agusan Del Norte, Agusan Del Sur, Surigao Del Norte, Surigao Del Sur
regional center: Butuan City

ARMM - (Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao)
Basilan, Lanao Del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi
regional center: Cotabato City

CAR - (Cordillera Administrative Region)
Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province
regional center: Baguio City

NCR - (National Capital Region)
regional center: Manila