the philippine flag Philippine History

The first humans arrived in the Philippines by land bridges at least 30,000 years ago, while the history of the Philippines as recorded by Europeans began with the arrival of Ferdinand Magellan in 1521. Permanent settlement was recognized with the expedition of Miguel López de Legazpi in 1565, beginning an era of Spanish colonization that lasted more than three centuries

The Philippine Revolution against the Spanish began in 1896, ending two years later with a proclamation of independence and the establishment of the First Philippine Republic. However, the Treaty of Paris in 1898 at the end of the Spanish-American War transferred control of the Philippines to the United States. Partial self-government under U.S. supervision began in 1935, but was interrupted by the Japanese attack and occupation of the islands during World War II. The Philippines was granted full independence in 1946.

The late 1960s and early 1970s saw the rise of student activism and civil unrest, prompting President Ferdinand Marcos to declare martial law in 1972. The peaceful 1986 EDSA Revolution brought about the dismissal of Marcos and a return to democracy for the country. The period since then, however, has been marked by government corruption, political instability, and hindered economic productivity.

Early History or Pre Colonial Period

Spanish Colonization

American Colonization

World War 2 and Japanese Colonization

Third Philippine Republic

Marcos Regime

Aquino Administration

Ramos Administration

Estrada Administration

Arroyo Administration

Philippine National Symbols