the philippine flag Philippine History - Arroyo Administration

early history | spanish colonization | american period | world war II and japanese occupation |
third republic | marcos admin | aquino admin | ramos admin | estrada admin | arroyo admin

The Arroyo Administration (2001-present)

Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo is sworn in as president at the 2001 EDSA Revolution.

On April 25, 2001, two weeks before the mid-term senatorial elections, the Sandiganbayan—the Philippine anti-graft court—issued an arrest warrant for Estrada. Estrada's supporters staged a so-called "EDSA Tres", or third People Power Revolution at the EDSA Shrine, which on May 1 tried to overthrow Arroyo's government. Arroyo was elected to a full six-year term in 2004, though the balloting was spoiled by a monotonous vote-counting process that was completed six weeks after the election.

In 2005, a tape of a wiretapped conversation surfaced bearing the voice of Arroyo apparently instructing an election official to increase her votes. The tape flashed protests calling for Arroyo's resignation. Arroyo admitted to inappropriately speaking to an election official, but denied allegations of fraud and refused to step down. Attempts to impeach the president failed later that year.

Arroyo currently spearheads a plan for a repair of the constitution to transform the present presidential republic into a federal parliamentary government.